India vs Afghanistan 2nd T20 Clash: India Secures Victory with a 6-Wicket Win; Yashasvi Jaiswal Scores 50, Shivam Dube Shines

In the second T20I clash, India triumphed over Afghanistan by a margin of 6 wickets, cementing an insurmountable advantage in the three-match series. Marking his return to the T20 format for India after a hiatus since November 2022, Virat Kohli contributed 29 runs in a substantial 57-run partnership following the early dismissal of Rohit Sharma.

The ongoing series stands at 2-0 in favor of India. Afghanistan’s Gulbadin Naib emerged as their top scorer, crafting a noteworthy 57 runs off 35 balls, adorned with four boundaries and an equal number of sixes, steering the visitors to a total of 172 all out.

Najibullah Zadran (23), Karim Janat (20), and Mujeeb Ur Rahman (21) also made valuable contributions to Afghanistan’s innings.

In response, India successfully chased down the target in 15.4 overs, with Yashasvi Jaiswal showcasing a blistering 34-ball 68, complemented by Shivam Dube’s unbeaten 63 off 32 balls.

Virat Kohli, making his T20I comeback after 14 months, played a brief yet impactful 16-ball 29-run cameo.

Prior to the chase, left-arm pacer Arshdeep Singh claimed three crucial wickets (3/32), while spinners Axar Patel (2/17) and Ravi Bishnoi (2/39) secured two each.

The batting contributions from Mujeeb Ur Rahman (21 off 9 balls) and Karim Janat (20 off 10) bolstered Afghanistan’s innings.

Tasked with setting the target, Afghanistan’s opener Rahmanullah Gurbaz displayed aggression, scoring a four through square leg off Arshdeep Singh (3/32 in 4 overs) and attempting a boundary hit down the ground, albeit without success.

Under the leadership of Rohit Sharma, team India aims to establish an unassailable lead in the series as they face Afghanistan in the second T20 at the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore. This pivotal encounter may determine the series winner.

Rohit and his team seek to replicate their performance from the first T20 while addressing any shortcomings in the final two matches before the Twenty20 World Cup. Players like Jitesh Sharma, Shivam Dube, Axar Patel, and Washington Sundar aspire to deliver memorable performances to catch the selectors’ attention.

Virat Kohli’s return necessitates adjustments to the lineup, and Rohit Sharma’s squad must not underestimate the threat posed by the Afghan Lions. Despite the absence of star bowler Rashid Khan, Afghanistan boasts formidable players like Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Mohammad Nabi, and others, capable of challenging India’s batting lineup.

India’s squad: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.

Afghanistan’s squad: Ibrahim Zadran (captain), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Ikram Alikhil (WK), Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Janat, Azmatullah Omarzai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad, Naveen Ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Mohammad Saleem, Qais Ahmad, Gulbadin Naib, Rashid Khan.

Key Highlights of India vs Afghanistan 2nd T20 Live Score Updates:

Afghanistan’s opening pair, Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Ibrahim Zadran, initiated their innings.

India’s pace attack, led by Arshdeep Singh and Mukesh Kumar, posed a challenge.

Rahmanullah Gurbaz exhibited prowess with impressive boundaries against the Indian pacers.

Reacting to pitch conditions, Rohit Sharma introduced spinner Ravi Bishnoi, resulting in the dismissal of Rahmanullah Gurbaz.

Axar Patel secured India’s second wicket by dismissing Afghanistan’s captain, Ibrahim Zadran.

Shivam Dube furthered India’s success by removing Afghanistan’s skipper, Ibrahim Zadran.

Gulbadin Naib achieved a milestone, scoring 50 in T20 internationals after 9 years.

Axar Patel struck again, dismissing the explosive batter Gulbadin Naib.

Rohit Sharma endured a first-ball duck, marking his second duck in this series.

Naveen-ul-Haq ended Virat Kohli’s promising innings with a catch at mid-off, limiting him to a 16-ball 29.

Yashasvi’s aggressive innings concluded after an impressive 68 off 34 balls.

Shivam Dube concluded the match unbeaten on a 32-ball 63, including four maximums.

India completed the chase with 26 balls to spare, securing an insurmountable lead in the three-match series.

Leave a Comment